Tata WPL (Women’s Premier League) Schedule 2023

The eagerly anticipated inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) has just begun with great zeal. The BCCI’s five-team T20 tournament begins on Saturday, March 4, 2023.

The tournament begins with a match between the Mumbai Indians and the Gujarat Giants. Mumbai Indians defeated Gujarat Giants by a massive 143 runs. The tournament opener takes place at the Dr. DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai. A spectacular opening ceremony featuring special performances by notable Indian entertainment stars takes place before the face-off.

Tata WPL 2023 Opening Ceremony

WPL hosts the grand opening ceremony at Dr. DY Patil Stadium before the blockbuster clash between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants. Top celebrities such as Kiara Advani, Kriti Sanon, and singer AP Dhillon gave a spectacular performance and grace the occasion.

Tata WPL 2023 Venues 

All 2023 WPL matches will take place at two venues: Dr. DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai and the Brabourne Stadium, which is also in Mumbai.

After each team plays the other four teams twice, the team with the highest point total at the end of the league stage advances directly to the grand finale.

The second and third-placed teams will play each other in the Eliminator match. It will take place at DY Patil Stadium on March 24. The grand finale of the tournament will take place at Brabourne Stadium on March 26 (Sunday).

TATA WPL 2023 Teams and Captains

Here are the captains of the five teams that will play in the first edition of the Women’s Premier League. These players have enormous fan bases, and they all possess immense talent.

Royal Challengers BangaloreSmriti Mandhana (India)
Mumbai IndiansHarmanpreet Kaur (India)
Delhi CaptainsMeg Lanning (Australia)
UP WarriorzAlyssa Healy (Australia)
Gujarat GiantsBeth Mooney (Australia)

Tata WPL Schedule 2023

Here is the full schedule of Women’s Premiere League 2023 with venue and time:

March 4Gujarat Giants vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 5RCB vs Delhi Capitals3:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 5UP Warriorz vs Gujarat Giants7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 6Mumbai Indians vs RCB7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 7Delhi Capital vs UP Warriorz7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 8Gujarat Giants vs RCB7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 9Delhi Capitals vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 10RCB vs UP Warriorz7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 11Gujarat Giants vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 12UP Warriorz vs Mumbai Indians7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 13Delhi Capitals vs RCB7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 14Mumbai Indians vs Gujarat Giants7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 15UP Warriorz vs RCB7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 16Delhi Capitals vs Gujarat Giants7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 18Mumbai Indians vs UP Warriorz3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 18RCB vs Gujarat Giants7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 20Gujarat Giants vs UP Warriorz3:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 20Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 21RCB vs Mumbai Indians3:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 21UP Warriorz vs Delhi Capitals7:30 PMBrabourne Stadium
March 24Eliminator (TBD)7:30 PMDY Patil Stadium
March 26Final (TBD)7: 30 PMBrabourne Stadium

Bottom Line

TATA WPL is a significant step forward in promoting women in cricket. The tournament (WPL) will give female cricketers numerous opportunities to showcase their skills. It is extremely difficult to make a place in the Indian cricket team, whether for men or women, and not everyone is given the opportunity. The Women’s Premier League (WPL), on the other hand, will provide opportunities for many female players.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.